skip to content

Materials Theory Group

 

(Above left) Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy building, West Cambridge site, University of Cambridge. (Middle) Inauguration of the Joint Research Center with Profs. Lindsay Greer (left) and Motoko Kotani (right), May 2012. (Right) Advanced Institute for Materials Research Main Building, Katahira Campus, Tohoku University, Sendai. [Image credits: 1, 2, 3.]


The Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy (MSM) in Cambridge is home to a Joint Research Centre between the Universities of Cambridge, and the Advanced Institute for Materials Research (AIMR) at Tohoku University in Sendai, Japan.

In the week of 24-28 August 2020, we will be hosting a Joint Online Workshop, bringing together researchers from MSM and AIMR for a series of seminars.

 

Workshop Format

Sessions will take place from 0900-1100 (BST) / 1700-1900 (JST) each day. Talks will be held entirely online using Zoom.

 

Registration

To receive Zoom links for the talks (via email), please complete the short form here:

https://forms.gle/9Rpf2BekocwLpmHD9

Registration is free.

 

Programme

Please click the talk titles to see abstracts (where they have been provided) via talks.cam.

Monday 24 August 2020

Energy Devices

Session Chair: Professor Chris Pickard

9:00—9:10 (BST)  |  17:00—17:10 (JST)

Professor Lindsay Greer (MSM)

Welcome address and introduction

9:10—9:40 (BST)  |  17:10—17:40 (JST)

Professor Shin-Ichi Orimo (Director of AIMR)

Advanced Hydride Research for Energy Device Application

9:40—10:10 (BST)  |  17:40—18:10 (JST)

Professor James Elliott (Deputy HoD, MSM)

Modelling of polyelectrolyte thin films for fuel cell applications

10:10—10:30 (BST)  |  18:10—18:30 (JST)

Dr Xavier Moya (MSM)

Barocaloric materials for zero-carbon heating and cooling

10:30—10:50 (BST)  |  18:30—18:50 (JST)

Dr Bonan Zhu (MSM / UCL)

Interface structures between fluorite and perovskite materials

10:50—11:10 (BST)  |  18:50—19:10 (JST)

Associate Professor Akichika Kumatani (AIMR)

Recent Advances in Scanning Electrochemical Microscopic Analysis and Visualization

 

Tuesday 25 August 2020

Electron Microscopy and Spectroscopy

Session Chair: Associate Professor Susumu Ikeda

9:00—9:30 (BST)  |  17:00—17:30 (JST)

Professor Paul Midgley FRS (HoD, MSM)

Electron Tomography and Multi-Dimensional Electron Microscopy

9:30—10:00 (BST)  |  17:30—18:00 (JST)

Professor Yuichi Ikuhara (AIMR)

Atomic-Scale Dynamic Observations of Grain Boundary and Surface Phenomena

10:00—10:20 (BST)  |  18:00—18:20 (JST)

Professor Caterina Ducati (MSM)

STEM studies of hybrid perovskite solar cells

10:20—10:40 (BST)  |  18:20—18:40 (JST)

Dr Kazutoshi Inoue (AIMR)

Arrangement and Hierarchy of Polyhedral Units in Tilt Grain Boundaries

10:40—11:00 (BST)  |  18:40—19:00 (JST)

Dr Emilie Ringe (MSM)

Plasmonic Magnesium Nanoparticles

 

Wednesday 26 August 2020

Mathematics, Data Science and Materials

Session Chair: Professor James Elliott

9:00—9:30 (BST)  |  17:00—17:30 (JST)

Professor Chris Pickard (MSM/AIMR)

Stochastic sampling of material structure space

9:30—10:00 (BST)  |  17:30—18:00 (JST)

Professor Gábor Csányi (Department of Engineering, Cambridge)

Machine learned force fields and potential energy surfaces

10:00—10:20 (BST)  |  18:00—18:20 (JST)

Dr Andreas Dechant (Kyoto University / AIMR)

Standard Realization of Carbon Structures

10:20—10:40 (BST)  |  18:20—18:40 (JST)

Associate Professor Kazuto Akagi (AIMR)

Topological Data Analysis for Materials Science

10:40—11:00 (BST)  |  18:40—19:00 (JST)

Dr Bingqing Cheng (Trinity College; Department of Physics, Department of Chemistry, Cambridge)

Ab initio thermodynamics with the help of machine learning

 

Thursday 27 August 2020

Bio/Soft Materials

Session Chair: Associate Professor Kazuto Akagi

9:00—9:30 (BST)  |  17:00—17:30 (JST)

Professor Ayumi Hirano (AIMR)

In vitro Reconstruction of Neuronal Networks

9:30—10:00 (BST)  |  17:30—18:00 (JST)

Professor Ruth Cameron (MSM)

Materials for Regenerative Medicine

10:00—10:20 (BST)  |  18:00—18:20 (JST)

Professor Hayato Chiba (AIMR)

Dynamics of Neuronal Gamma Oscillations on a Random Graph

10:20—10:40 (BST)  |  18:20—18:40 (JST)

Dr Tom Bennett (MSM)

The Changing State of MOFs and Hybrid Perovskites: Liquids, Glasses, and Extreme Conditions

10:40—11:00 (BST)  |  18:40—19:00 (JST)

Associate Professor Hiroshi Yabu (AIMR)

Biomimetic Functional Materials Based on Self-Organization of Polymers

 

Friday 28 August 2020

Topological Materials

Session Chair: Professor Lindsay Greer

9:10—9:40 (BST)  |  17:10—17:40 (JST)

Associate Professor Tomoki Ozawa (AIMR)

Topological Phenomena beyond Solid-state Systems

9:40—10:00 (BST)  |  17:40—18:00 (JST)

Dr Max McGinley (Trinity College; Department of Physics, Cambridge)

Fragility of time-reversal symmetry protected topological phases

10:00—10:20 (BST)  |  18:00—18:20 (JST)

Professor Takafumi Sato (AIMR)

Electronic Structure of Novel Topological Materials Studied by ARPES

10:20—10:40 (BST)  |  18:20—18:40 (JST)

Dr Bartomeu Monserrat (MSM)

Modelling topological materials at finite temperature

10:40—11:00 (BST)  |  18:40—19:00 (JST)

Dr Max Lein (AIMR)

On Choosing a Physically Meaningful Topological Classification for Non-Hermitian Systems

 

Organising Committee

Professor Chris Pickard (MSM/AIMR)

Associate Professor Kazuto Akagi (AIMR)

Dr Joseph Nelson (MSM/AIMR)

Associate Professor Susumu Ikeda (AIMR)

The committee gratefully acknowledges organisational assistance from WPI-AIMR (Tohoku University), and funding from JSPS Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Innovative Areas: Discrete Geometric Analysis for Materials Design.

 

AIMR website

A website for this workshop is also available at AIMR:

https://www.wpi-aimr.tohoku.ac.jp/en/news/seminar/2020/20200817_001289.html

 

Queries

Please contact Dr Joseph Nelson (jn336 @ cam.ac.uk) in the first instance.

Latest news

New carbonates uncovered

7 January 2022

A study by Joseph Nelson and Chris Pickard of the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy, University of Cambridge and the AIMR, Tohoku University, uses structure prediction to exhaustively explore the Ti-C-O and Al-C-O ternary systems.

Postdoc in High Temperature Conventional Superconductivity

5 January 2022

Applications are invited for a postdoctoral research position with Professor Chris Pickard at the University of Cambridge. Recent advances in computational methods have raised the prospect of the in silico design of high...

Visualising potential energy surfaces using dimensionality reduction

25 November 2021

Computational structure prediction has emerged as a highly successful approach to the discovery of new materials. Candidate structures are created by constructing the most stable configurations that can be adopted by a given...

The elements of life under pressure

1 July 2021

First-principles structure prediction sheds light on high-pressure compounds formed from carbon, hydrogen, nitrogen and oxygen.

AIRSS for battery cathode materials

15 June 2021

A team of researchers at Cambridge and University College London have developed a computational framework for battery cathode exploration based on ab initio random structure searching.

Anatase-like Grain Boundary Structure in Rutile Titanium Dioxide

30 April 2021

A collaboration between researchers at Cambridge and AIMR has shed light on grain boundary structures in titania.

Physics World Breakthrough of the Year finalists for 2020

17 December 2020

A paper coauthored by Chris Pickard and Bartomeu Monserrat has been selected as a Top 10 finalist in Physics World's breakthroughs of the year for 2020.